Comcast Billing Complaint

This guy is all I could think about the entire time I was chatting with the ironically titled Comcast Support.

10/11/13 XFINITY Chat

Charity > Hello Zane, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Charity. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Zane > My Issue: Comcast has billed me incorrectly and shows incorrect hardware.

Charity > How are you today?

Zane > Hello

Zane > Notes from my last contact should help here

Charity > Hope you are well, Zane

Zane > I talked with a rep who corrected everything and told me how much I owe

Zane > I cut everything but internet in August

Zane > And returned all hardware

Zane > You guys charged me 175.17 in September

Zane > I talked with someone who explained that everything would be credited and the hardware section on your website would get updated.

Zane > That was about a week ago

Zane > It still show s 175.17

Zane > And the telephone modem I returned still show s under hardware

Charity > I understand you have a concern about the balance you see online and I’m willing to assist you on this. I am here to provide you with excellent customer service today. Please be assured I will do my best to help you with your concern.

Charity > To better assist you, do you mind if I ask you a few questions?

Zane > Sure

Charity > Thank you.

Charity > To ensure the integrity & security of the account, may you please verify the last 4 of your SSN?

Zane > xxxx

Charity > Thank you.

Charity > Do you remember the amount after the corrections are made?

Zane > Whatever the rate I am at is

Charity > Okay. Thank you very much. Please give me a minute or two while I pull up your account and check if the balance has been updated

Zane > I was also told that I would have credit applied for the prorated amount of the time that I already paid for between late Aug and early September when my next billing cycle started

Charity > While waiting, I’d like to remind you about the Comcast Customer Guarantee- it’s our promise to you that we stand behind our products and services and will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to answer your questions online.

Charity > Thanks for holding

Charity > I have the account now and yes I do see the credits posted, Zane. The updated balance now is $47.09. Normally the balance should get updated online after 72 hrs but if you cant see that online yet, don’t worry about that. The credits will reflect on the next bill. You can pay $47.09 instead of $175.17

Charity > You wont be charged of any penalties for paying $47.09 only

Zane > ok, and that is for the month of October correct? Zane > I will go ahead and pay that now

Charity > $47.09 due date 10/03 and the next bill will be generated on Oct 15, due date for that will be on 11/03

Zane > That is full price for my current plan correct? When will the pro-rate credit be applied?

Charity > You can still pay until the 14th without late fees

Charity > That is already the amount after the prorate credits. The next bill should be the normal charges then

Zane > There is also supposed to be a credit applied to my account for the pro rate.

Charity > Your expected bill next bill is $39.95 before tax

Zane > I am confused

Zane > I paid 175.17 8/28/2013

Zane > That covered 8/15 – 9/15

Charity > Okay, you were charged of $175.17 for the dates 09/17 – 10/16 but you already cancelled everything but internet effective 8/26, right?

Zane > I cancelled my account 8/26

Zane > So I should be prorated credit for 8/26 – 9/15

Zane > My bill on 9/15 should have been for 39.95

Zane > minus the pro-rated credit

Zane > 8/26 – 9/15 = 20 days

Zane > I should have a prorated credit of 20 days x (175.17 – 39.93)/31

Zane > 87.25

Zane > So as of right now you guys should owe me 47.30

Zane > 87.25 – 39.95

Charity > Hold on

Zane > I should be paid through the next 2 months

Charity > I’m checking the bill history

Charity > Just a moment

Zane > ok

Charity > While I’m still checking the billing cycle and old plan rates. What is that other credit you mentioned for and how much was promised?

Zane > The previous rep said she would send an email and never did

Zane > I would say 87.25 based on my calculations above.

Zane > I guess I will stick to using chat. This is working pretty well so far and I can save a record for my books.

Charity > I appreciate your patience while on hold, I am still working/checking on your query. Please give me another two minutes for this, would that be okay?

Zane > Sure

Charity > Thanks for patiently waiting. I checked here and I see your last bill was for the cycle 8/17 – 9/16 and you are already paid for these dates $175.15 and Another charge for the dates 09/17 – 10/16 which is the current bill. The old plan was removed effective 8/26, so this means, the charges from 8/26 to 10/16 were removed based on the old plan and at the same time, from 8/26 to 10/16 total of two cycles, are charged of the new plan which is the new rate. The total credit prorate is $131.07, so your balance should be $44.10. You have a one time $2.99 change of service fee for downgrading the service, so it shows here $47.09

Zane > hmmmm

Zane > So for 8/26 – 10/16 my bill is 131.07 + 47.09?

Zane > 178.16

Zane > My current plan is only 39.95

Zane > I have no idea how your calculation is working

Charity > No, for 8/26 – 10/16, it is only $44.10.

Charity > The $131.07 is the credit

Zane > So when will I get my prorate credit?

Charity > You will see the credits on the next bill. Just like I said, it will show there $175.17 online but it is fine to pay $47.09.

Charity > Then the next bill will be $39.95 only

Zane > You guys owe me 131.07

Zane > So if I owe you 47.09 and you owe me 131.07 I actually owe you nothing and you still owe me 83.98

Charity > Technically, yes because that credit $131.07 doesn’t reflect on your online account yet but on our system, your balance is already $47.09. The detailed adjustments will be on the next statement but the amount should only be $39.95. So if you pay $47.09 today, then expect your next bill to be $39.95 only.

Zane > I get that

Charity > No, the $47.09 is already the amount AFTER the $131.07 credit.

Zane > I just don’t get when I will see the 131.07

Zane > We are back at square one

Zane > Lets take it step by step

Zane > Starting from 8/26

Zane > I severely downgrade service which I have already paid for. Comcast owes me 131.07.

Zane > Right.

Zane > As of the point of my cancellation you guys owed me 131.07.

Zane > Correct?

Charity > On 8/26 to 10/17, you are charged of the triple play, this was removed and at the same dates, prorated charges are applied based on the new rate. Your current bill is $175.15 minus the $131.07 prorate credit, then that is $44.10. I suggest you wait for the next bill statement to be generated so you can see how it was exactly calculated.

Zane > Hold on one second. I want to pull the bill that I paid last

Zane > was my last payment for the month ahead or behind?

Zane > as I thought, it is for the month ahead

Zane > Billing Date 08/15/13

Zane > Total Amount Due $175.17

Zane > 08/17 – 09/16

Charity > The last payment you made covered the dates 8/17 – 9/16.

Zane > So when I cancelled my service on 8/26 you guys owed me 131.07

Zane > Yes

Zane > And when I downgraded 8/26 you guys owed me a prorate of 131.07

Zane > Correct?

Zane > On your next reply please confirm or deny that statement

Zane > Clearly if I payed 175.17 and then only used your service for 11 days you owed me money

Zane > Which you have calculated at 131.07

Zane > So you guys owe me 131.07 and I have paid up to 9/16.

Zane > Now the 9/16 bill comes for my internet service which is only 39.95.

Zane > so as of this moment, you guys owe me 95.12.

Zane > Now I don’t think that is right because I don’t think your prorated credit of 131.07 is correct.

Zane > 08/17 – 09/16 = 31 days

Zane > 175.17 (Full Bill) – 39.95 (Internet Services Kept) = 135.22 (Services Dropped)

Charity > I really apologize but since there is no new bill yet that we can check the breakdown of the $131.07 credit I see here on the account. But to give you an idea of this credit posted here, this is only based on these amount: $144.95 triple play + $7.90 Total Additional XFINITY TV Services + $7 modem rental = $159.95, not the entire $175.15 amount because this includes the taxes and fees. How ever, once the new bill is out with the breakdown of this credit, the taxes are also adjusted.

Zane > 135.22 / 31 days = 4.36 daily pro rate

Zane > ok

Zane > so I need to use 159.95 for the calculation

Zane > 159.95 (Full Bill) – 39.95 (Internet Services Kept) = 120 (Services Dropped)

Charity > Yes, the tax adjustments will follow once the next bill is out. I will leave notes on the account, Zane. Let us wait for the next bill to be generated on 10/15, so on this date, check your online account and open the PDF statement, the breakdown of the $131.07 credit will be posted there. For now , I cant confirm nor deny your calculations because there is no basis for me to verify them.

Zane > 120 / 31 days = 3.87 Daily Rate

Zane > ok

Zane > Are you guys going to send an updated bill for September?

Charity > No.

Zane > I am not going to understand the bill unless you send me updated September and October bills

Charity > We generate one bill per month only.

Charity > Adjustments will be on the Oct statement

Charity > To be generated on 10/15 online

Zane > If I cancelled on 8/26 why did my bill on 9/15 not show my downgraded services?

Zane > Why did your system only show 2 of the 3 pieces of hardware returned?

Zane > I returned my hardware on 8/27

Zane > I have the receipt in my hand

Zane > Clearly you guys took note that I returned something

Charity > Based on the notes of your previous contacts, the triple play wasn’t cancelled so by the time your Sep bill was generated, it still shows the old plan even though you were only using the internet. So the last rep you spoke escalated this issue to a supervisor and the supervisor, created a disconnect order effective 8/26.

Zane > ???

Zane > So w hen I called your rep on the 26th and downgraded my service they did not?

Zane > When I returned my equipment they verified that my service was downgraded

Charity > Correct. No disconnect orders were made so you were still charged of the triple play. The Sep bill was generated 9/15. The disconnect order was completed 9/17. That’s why the bill showing there online is still the old plan.

Zane > So two people at Comcast lied to me

Zane > First the person I called to downgrade on the 26th and second, the person I handed my hardware over to when I asked them to confirm my plan was downgraded. I even asked her to confirm my new rate which she did.

Zane > I am extremely disappointed in the experience I have had in downgrading my service and have to request some sort of compensation for my time and effort invested in dealing with the multiple levels of failure by Comcast.

Zane > “I’d like to remind you about the Comcast Customer Guarantee- it’s our promise to you that we stand behind our products and services”

Zane > My internet works so the product is good. The service (other than your excellent service, thank you for your patience) has been terrible.

Zane > My account still show s that I have a phone modem in my possession.

Zane > The last person I spoke with explained that this would be corrected. Apparently that was on 9/17 from your statement above. It still show s that I have in my possession a Make & Model: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. TM602G

Zane > And from everything you have stated in this chat. I am going to have to call back again October 15th when I get my bill because your calculations are wrong.

Charity > On behalf of Comcast, I apologize for all the troubles this has caused you, Zane. I made sure everything is noted on the account in reference to our chat tonight. I truly appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Charity > On Oct 15, just check on your online bill statement (PDF) first and if you see the breakdown is indeed wrong, then you can chat back anytime.

Charity > Do you have other concerns for me?

Zane > I appreciate the apology but that isn’t exactly going to give me back the 3+ hours I have invested in this issue.

Zane > Do you have any ability to apply any credit or discount to my account for my troubles.

Charity > You need to call our hotline for that discount requests, Zane. I can apply a credit here but limited to $10 only.

Charity > Shall that work for you?

Zane > Sure

Zane > Thanks

Zane > I appreciate your support

Charity > Okay, again, this wont reflect online yet until a new bill comes out.

Charity > You are most welcome.

Zane > ok

Charity > Thank you for contacting Comcast and have a great night!

Zane > So I have to pay 47.09 now ?

Zane > Else I will get a late fee?

Charity > You have until the 14th to pay before a late fee is applied. Payments on or after Oct 15 will have a late fee because a new bill will be generated that date

Zane > And even though it says I owe 175.17, if I pay 47.09 I will not be charged a late fee?

Charity > Yes. Paying $47.09 is okay because that is what reflecting here from our end.

Zane > ok

Charity > Online accounts are aren’t updated real time unlike our system here and just get updated once a new bill comes out

Zane > Thank you. Have a good night.

Charity > If you need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us through Live Chat (available 24 hours a day, 7 days a w eek). Comcast also of f ers great FAQ and Help forums located at click here to help you solve many issues on your ow n. You can also reach us at 1-800-XFINITY (934-6489).

Charity > Thanks and take care

Zane > You too. Goodbye.

I hope that this rep is wrong and that my next bill shows the 131.07 credit.  Else,  I will have to go through this again.

Update:  Well it is 10/16.  One day after my bill was supposed to be generated and no bill.  Time to chat with Comcast again.

analyst Marc has entered room

Marc: Hello Zane, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Marc. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Zane: My Issue: Where is my bill?

Marc: Let me extend a warm smile to make your day even brighter! I am looking forward in helping you today.

Zane: thx

analyst Marc has entered room

Marc: You’re welcome.

Zane: So Comcast has severely messed up my billing and I was told to wait until my next bill on 10/15. It is 10/16. Where is my bill?

Marc: Oh, I see here that you were not able to get your billing statement.

Marc: As your service representative today, I want you to know that your satisfaction is of my topmost priority and I assure you that we can resolve this issue together on this chat.

Marc: Please give me 2 minutes to pull up your account. Would that be okay?

Zane: yes

Marc: Thank you, Zane.

Marc: While waiting, you can check out Comcast.net. Comcast.net is a one stop personalizable website for up-to-the-minute information on news, weather, finance, sports, entertainment, travel and more. To learn about these and other great Comcast features for Video, High Speed and Digital Voice visit http://www.comcast.net

Marc: Thank you for staying online.

Marc: I have your account now and thank you for providing the correct account name, phone number and address during the onset of this chat session.

Marc: May I ask if you enrolled the account to our Ecobill?

Zane: not sure

Zane: If I did not within the last 4 months

Marc: I checked your account and I see here that you enrolled the account to our Ecobill. Once the account is enrolled to our Ecobill, you will not be able to get paper billing statement in the mail.

Zane: I am looking for my bill online

Marc: All your billing statements will be posted online using your Comcast online account.

Zane: Then where is it

Marc: Oh, great!

Marc: Were you able to see the billing statement generated last 09/15/2013?

Zane: no

Zane: wait

Zane: yes

Zane: where is the bill for 10/15

Marc: Let me give you the steps on how to check your billing statement online.

Zane: I know where it is online

Zane: Just not the 10/15 one

Zane: Is there a 10/15 bill generated?

Marc: As I checked your account, I see here that there is no bill generated for 10/15/2013 yet.

Zane: why is it late?

Marc: There was a credit prorate of $57.09 plus another credit prorate of $131.07 posted last 10/11/2013.

Zane: So what is my account balance at?

Marc: I see here that there is no balance due in your account yet.

Zane: There should be a negative balance

Zane: Which I can’t dispute until I get the bill

Zane: When will I get the bill

Marc: Yes, the balance due was supposedly $175.17 and the credit prorate applied in your account is $188.16. There is a remaining credit of $12.99 in your account.

Zane: that is wrong

Zane: when will I get my bill?

Zane: You guys are crediting me the pro-rate from the downgrade of my service from 8/26 – 9/15. The problem is you are prorating against the value billed to my account 9/15 which was incorrect. My bill 9/15 should have only been $39 since I only had internet.

Zane: All of which is pointless for me to argue with you until I get my bill

Zane: So… please tell me when I will get my bill.

Marc: I understand that. That’s the reason we credited all the charges from your previous bill so that you do not have to pay anything from your previous bill.

Zane: Since you have failed to answer my question in three attempts and since you have failed to deliver my bill on 10/15 please go ahead and credit my account $10 for the inconveniance.

Zane: And again, for the fourth time. When will I receive my bill?

Marc: As I see here, there is no bill generated for 10/15/2013 since the billing charges were modified on the cycle when the bill was supposedly be generated. There is a need for one full billing cycle for the system to be generated in your account. Therefore, there is a need for us to wait for the system to generate the bill as we are unable to manually generate the bill through this chat session.

Zane: Lets go ahead and review my last chat

Zane: https://customersupportreview.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/comcast-billing-sucks/

Zane: please visit that link and investigate my last chat

Marc: All notes were posted in your account.

Zane: Charity > Yes, the tax adjustments will follow once the next bill is out. I will leave notes on the account, Zane. Let us wait for the next bill to be generated on 10/15, so on this date, check your online account and open the PDF statement, the breakdown of the $131.07 credit will be posted there. For now , I cant confirm nor deny your calculations because there is no basis for me to verify them.

Zane: Please credit my account $10 (your limit) for the continued inconvenience of your failed support and billing system and give me a specific date which you will have my bill presented.

Marc: That credit needs to be audited first, however, I can surely processing the credit in your account and once approved, it will be posted in your account.

Marc: Please wait for the bill to be generated by the system as we do not have the exact date and time for the system to generate your current bill.

Zane: thank you, Now when will I receive a final bill for me.

Zane: ok then. I guess I will check back daily.

Zane: Thank you for your support.

Marc: Rest assured that your billing charges are already corrected and billing history will not be affected as we will also depend on the system to generate your updated bill.

Marc: You’re welcome.

Change of Address

I recently received an offer to purchase supportreview.wordpress.com

Name: X
Domain Name (If available): supportreview.net
Describe your web development needs:
Hi Zane,
My friend owns supportreview.net, .org, .biz, and .info. I was helping him set up his sites and domains, and one of things on the agenda is a daily blog. He noticed a blog already at supportreview.wordpress.com that he believes is managed by you. We are wanting to purchase that site (or well, its wordpress login, content, etc) from you. It would be great of a daily blog he is wanting to add into his sites.
Could you email us an asking price, and what prodedure it would require to move the site over to us. We could do a paypal transaction, or whatever you are confortable with.

Also, do you happen to own supportreview.com?

Thanks! Let us know ASAP!

Being a curious sort of fellow I did a whois lookup on supportreview.net to verify that someone was indeed trying to start a business. Sure enough the email address of the domain owner matched that which had email me. Since I do not maintain this blog I figured I had no issue moving to a new address for a reasonable fee. I replied with the following…

Hello X,

No, I do not own supportreview.com

I would be willing to transfer ownership of my supportreview wordpress user for $515.24 (which ends up being $500 after Paypal fee’s).  I will retain the rights to all content currently hosted on supportreview.wordpress.com and will transfer it to a different wordpress.com location.  I will then delete all of my content from the supportreview.wordpress.com location and provide you the username and password for this WordPress account (which will then be completely empty with the default theme installed and available for you to use as you wish).  I will test the login and password prior to sending to you to ensure that it works.  After I email you the working username and password my services will be complete and you will own supportreview.wordpress.com .  I would recommend changing the password to your user.

As part of the terms of transfer you agree to not use my name in any way on this site.  I do not want anyone to make posts that appear to be mine on this site.  Since I have owned this site up until now this is the only risk that I see in selling this to you.

If you agree to the terms of this agreement please reply with confirmation explicitly stating “I agree to the terms in your email” and paypal $515.24 to (email) .  I will transfer my existing site to a different location and send you the working username and password to supportreview.wordpress.com account within 7 days of payment receipt.  Again,  supportreview.wordpress.com will be blank of all content and will have the default theme installed.

Note:  I have to share with you that there are plenty of other blogging platforms out there for you to use.  e.g. blogger.  I am not sure why you are so interested in using wordpress free blogging tool and paying for an existing domain.  It would make more sense to install a copy of wordpress (which is open source) on your own server and make a url such as blog.supportreview.net since you already own supportreview.net.  Let me know if you are interested in using my web development and hosting services to set this up for you.  My prices are very affordable.  http://www.zpwebdevelopment.com/pricing/

Cheers,

–Zane

The next day I had $500 in my paypal account with an email agreeing to the terms. So far so good! I exported my posts, registered a new address, and moved my site.  I cleared the previous user, changed the password and emailed “Brian” the username and password for the site.  I received an email back saying thank you and all is good.

After a few hours I visited the site.  One post.  A remake of a previous post I had made on this site about http://www.simplefilings.com which had been updated from this:

https://customersupportreview.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/simplefilingscom-scam/

to this:

Simplefilings.com was established in 2006.  They have serviced thousands of customers over the last 7 years.  They have provided the following about their services.

We do our  best every day to please our customers, to try to earn their repeat business, and to make whatever service they choose (LLC formation, DBA registration, EIN filing, tax extension, social security card application prep, etc.) simply as easy and trouble-free as possible.

Source:  http://supportreview.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/simplefilingscom-scam/

Well played “X”!  I have updated all links to my previous post.  If you linked to my story please update your links.  Thank you.

Office Depot Catalog Spam

I just received an Office Depot catalog in the mail that was the size of a phone book. This surprised me because an event that happened a week or two ago. I received a phone call from an Office Depot Rep during work hours on my private phone line while on a conference call. He asked if everything was well with business and wanted to make sure I didn’t need anything from Office Depot (apparently Office Depot is getting desperate). They referred to me by the business name of a startup that I started two years ago that didn’t make it to fruition. I told the Rep kindly that I did not wish to receive any phone calls and that I was busy on another call. After 5 mins of jabber he finally let me go. I was very clear to him that the business was no longer at this address and that I did not wish to receive any phone or mail spam from Office Depot ever again. Apparently the message didn’t transfer because I received the catalog.

So I just walked in from the mailbox, checked the rest of my mail then called the number on the magazine to ask to be removed from whatever distribution list mailed me the catalog. After waiting on the line for about 20 mins someone finally picked up. A woman in a very noisy call center asked how she could help me. I explained the issue. She asked me for my name, phone number and address. I avoided giving her my phone number for a couple mins then decided it might be smart because she may need it in case we get disconnected and it also might help her find my “account”. After giving her the information she repeated 3 or 4 times she asked if I could hold, I said yes each time wondering why she continued to ask. Eventually she asked a final time and the phone went silent. I thought “NO WAY, did she just hang up on me?”. I waited a few seconds for the hope that she just put me on hold. Eventually my phone started making the off the hook noise and now I am pissed. Hence why you are seeing this article!

I just sent a description of the experience as a complaint via their webpage with a link to this site. Lets see how they respond.

Two complaints. One, do not mail any more catalogs to xxxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx, Charleston SC xxxxx. This is a residential address and the catalog fills my entire mailbox. Send no more.

Second, I just called to make this same request via your 800 number. I gave your rep my phone number and after 20 mins she hung up on me. She had my phone number and did not reply. Please respond. I will be publishing this experience and your response on my blog http://supportreview.wordpress.com/ which averages around 3-4 visits a day. Thank you.

Update 12/30/09: I just received yet another catalog 😦 . I called 800.915.4624 to complain. They told me to send an email to mailoptout@officedepot.com with my Customer ID#, input my address and request to no longer receive catalogs. Jesus H. Christ.

Poor handling of outages @ Bluehost.com

I hate to write a complaint about Bluehost.com as I have been more then satisfied with their price, services, phone & web support and overall hosting experience.  Unfortunately after nearly 3 years of using their service I have finally found something to complain about.  Bluehost.com seems to have no process for scheduling upgrades or informing its customers of downtime.

I will eventually post the chat that I just had with bluehost support once my server returns online.  During the chat I was informed that 1.  There is no outage calendar,  2.  There is no notification, 3.  There is no way to display an outage message as opposed to no response.  I informed the support personnel I would do my best to share my displeasure with Matt Heaton and see if anything can be done to improve outage support.

Update:  Chat from yesterday’s support session via online chat

Jake [12:45:52 AM]: Hello and Welcome to our real-time chat. I am
answering more then one chat session at once so please be patient.
How can I help you today?
Zane [12:45:52 AM]: box464.bluehost.com down?
Jake [12:46:01 AM]: Whats the main domain on the account?
Zane [12:46:47 AM]: xxxxneighborhood.com
Jake [12:47:07 AM]: Thank You… please be patient and i will look into
the it for you.
Zane [12:47:15 AM]: ty
Jake [12:48:05 AM]: Currently we are performing an operating system
upgrade on your server..
This will accomplish a few issues, Like….
Faster service
more stable operation
and of course.. keeping up with the ever growing IT world.
However, There is No estimated time of compilation
We apologize for the inconvenience
If you are unable to access your account after about 3 hour please feel
free to contact us again for an update. Again we appreciate your
patience and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Zane [12:49:14 AM]: ok, do you guys have a calendar or schedule of
maintenance that I can check when this occures?
Jake [12:49:55 AM]: No.
[12:50:12 AM]: Sorry
Zane [12:50:54 AM]: Is there any way to have an outage page show?
Jake [12:52:03 AM]: No, cause you can’t even get access tot he account
from point to point.
Zane [12:52:57 AM]: but you could forward to another server while
it is down
Jake [12:53:48 AM]: No, we dont offer this.
Zane [12:55:07 AM]: This is unfortunate. I will see if there is
anything I can do about changing the way you guys handle outages. Thank
you.
Jake [12:55:34 AM]: Thank you for contacting our Live Chat. If you have
additional questions, many answers can be found through our
Knowledgebase. If you have other issues arise please let us know.
Remember our World Class Support is just a click away!
Have a nice day! Jake.

Jake [12:45:52 AM]: Hello and Welcome to our real-time chat. I am

answering more then one chat session at once so please be patient.

How can I help you today?

Zane [12:45:52 AM]: boxXXX.bluehost.com down?

Jake [12:46:01 AM]: Whats the main domain on the account?

Zane [12:46:47 AM]: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com

Jake [12:47:07 AM]: Thank You… please be patient and i will look into

the it for you.

Zane [12:47:15 AM]: ty

Jake [12:48:05 AM]: Currently we are performing an operating system

upgrade on your server..

This will accomplish a few issues, Like….

Faster service

more stable operation

and of course.. keeping up with the ever growing IT world.

However, There is No estimated time of compilation

We apologize for the inconvenience

If you are unable to access your account after about 3 hour please feel

free to contact us again for an update. Again we appreciate your

patience and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Zane [12:49:14 AM]: ok, do you guys have a calendar or schedule of

maintenance that I can check when this occures?

Jake [12:49:55 AM]: No.

[12:50:12 AM]: Sorry

Zane [12:50:54 AM]: Is there any way to have an outage page show?

Jake [12:52:03 AM]: No, cause you can’t even get access tot he account

from point to point.

Zane [12:52:57 AM]: but you could forward to another server while

it is down

Jake [12:53:48 AM]: No, we dont offer this.

Zane [12:55:07 AM]: This is unfortunate. I will see if there is

anything I can do about changing the way you guys handle outages. Thank

you.

Jake [12:55:34 AM]: Thank you for contacting our Live Chat. If you have

additional questions, many answers can be found through our

Knowledgebase. If you have other issues arise please let us know.

Remember our World Class Support is just a click away!

Have a nice day! Jake.

Update:

After reviewing my emails from bluehost.com I found an email 7/30/09 stating.

In the next 72 hours we will be upgrading the server xxxxneighborhood.com is hosted on from CentOS 4.7 to 5.3. We expect for the upgrade to take approximately 1.5 – 2 hours to complete. Most users will not be impacted by this upgrade, however several key items will be updated:

Unfortunately the current outage is not within the 72 hour warning.

SimpleFilings.com SCAM!

I am currently in the process of trying to start a new business to provide a Taxi service in Downtown Charleston using Global Electric Motorcars.  I recently came to a point where I needed to register with S.C. as an LLC (Limited Liability Corporation) and register for an Employer Identification Number (EIN) with the IRS.  Since I am no lawyer and I have no knowledge about these filings I decided to find out what I could online.  I simply googled File LLC.  Apparently there is an entire industry out there to SCAM YOU into PAYING FOR THESE FILINGS!  Thanks Google!  After dealing with what you are about to read I found you can file for an EIN for free with the IRS as well as file for an LLC for a flat state fee.  It would be nice for Google to remove all online scams from their ad database and I write this complaint as an initial request.

Now, onto the Scam.

Using SimpleFilings.com LLC registration I found a form.  After filling out this form I found an option to submit for $50.  At the time I didn’t know any better so it sounded ok.  After filling in banking information and clicking submit I immediately found a screen informing me that I had been charged $178.  I immediately responded by emailing TaxID@SimpleFilings.com the following email.

During the creation of my submission I selected the $50 option to file my claim.  I was then charged $178.  This is not what I agreed to pay.  Please contact me immediately at

<snip my phone number & order details>

The next day I received a response.

Good Morning Zane —

I’m afraid you misunderstood the selections available to you. Our minimum price for obtaining an EIN on our customer’s behalf is $128.00  After the initial Standard Service of $128, you have the option of selecting Expedited Service (24 hour return after receiving the signature form) for an additional $50, or Same Day Service after receiving the signature form for an additional $99.  These services are only available after the minimum standard service of $128.00.  Beings as your order is already completed and a number has been assigned effective immidiately I have requested that you be given a 50% discount on your order. Once the finance department has completed the refudn transaction they will send you the confirmation via email.  Have a great da and please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Fine.  $89.  Not $50 but better then $178.  I respond with.

Good deal.  Thank you for your quick reply.

Everything was ok.  I got my EIN number via email and I could move forward starting my business.

Then this email came.

Greetings,

Thank you for contacting us.  As requested, your order has been canceled.  A refund less our 50% processing fee has been issued for your order.  When you initially completed your application, you were required to check a box agreeing to our terms and conditions on the information submission page, or the site would not have allowed you to continue to our payment page.  A copy of that agreement, the returns and refunds section of our legal disclaimer and details of your refund are below.

REQUIRED AGREEMENT BEFORE SUBMITTING APPLICATION:

REQUIRED:  By clicking this checkbox, I agree to submit my information to this website.  I agree that filling out these fields acts as a signature agreeing to the Terms of Use linked from this page.  I hereby authorize Hermeris Inc. as a third party designee to submit my SS-4 form to the IRS, receive my EIN, and answer questions on my behalf.

LIMITED MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
We are proud to offer our limited Money Back Guarantee. This offer is subject to the terms and conditions set forth herein depending upon the particular service requested. Essentially, as long as you cancel your order before our work is completed we will refund your money less a fee for services already rendered. The specific details of this guarantee are as follows for each service.
a. EIN Obtaining Service
Where an SS4 form has been prepared by Hermeris and provided to you for your signature, we will refund your total payment less a fifty dollar ($50.00) document processing fee, as long as the signed document has not yet been received by Hermeris for filing. Once we receive your signed document there will be no refund granted, although, if we receive your request to stop the filing before we have submitted it to the IRS, the filing may still be cancelled.
b. DBA Registration Service and LLC/Corporation Formation Service
Where Hermeris has begun processing the order but not yet completed document preparation, we will refund your total payment less a fifty dollar ($50.00) document processing fee. Where Hermeris has completed document preparation but has not yet obtained your signature (or has not yet submitted the filing if your signature is not required) we will refund your total payment less a one hundred dollar ($100.00) document processing fee. Once we receive your signed documents and/or submit your filing to the appropriate government entity, there will be no refund granted, although, if we receive your request to stop the filing before we have submitted it to the appropriate government entity, the filing may still be cancelled.
c. All Services
Under no circumstances will there be any refund of any filing fees, publication fees or shipping fees incurred by Hermeris in relation to any assignment. There are no refunds for any assignment related to the contract template, toll-free forwarding, domain name registration, website development, or website hosting services.
Hermeris reserves the right to alter, change, amend or delete fees at its sole option. Hermeris further reserves the right to institute new services and charge fees in association with the provision of such new services as it deems appropriate. Hermeris reserves the right to offer subsequent promotional rates which may or may not be more favorable than the terms under which you entered this agreement. Any such periodic special rates shall not effect the then existing rights and responsibilities of each party.
Payment of Fees – Hermeris accepts payment by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express), and by personal check, cashiers check, electronic check, money order, and PayPal. In addition, Hermeris may from time to time allow additional forms of payment however the offering of a particular form of payment does not obligate Hermeris to continue to offer that form of payment in the future. The current list of payment options will be displayed during the order process. If you have any questions concerning the current available payment options, you may email us at support@hermeris.com.
REFUND DETAILS:
You have sent a partial refund to Zane.

Refunded 50% of order.
———————————–
Payment Details
———————————–

* Buyer: Zane

* Buyer’s Email:
* Original Transaction Date: Aug. 21, 2008
* Original Transaction ID: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

—————————————————————-
Refund Details
—————————————————————-
* Refund Amount: $89.00 USD
* Refund Transaction ID: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

???

Ok.  Time to do some research.

Start with the Better Business Bureau.  I find via google (I guess we take the good with the bad) that the company behind SimpleFilings.com is Hermeris inc.  Check out there Better Business Bureau report.  Unsatisfactory.  Expected.

Next I check out Google a little longer.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/346/RipOff0346543.htm
http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/268/RipOff0268613.htm

Now we are talking.

Time for my response.

I recently looked up your company on the Better Business Bureau’s webpage.

http://kansascity.app.bbb.org/report/99140919

Rating:  Unsatisfactory

Name:                  Hermeris inc.
Phone:                 (866) 659-5241
Address:              4049 Pennsylvania, suite 100
Kansas city, – 64111
Website:              http://www.hermeris.com
File Open Date:                 April 2008
TOB Classification:           Internet Advertising & Marketing Services
BBB Accreditation:           This company is not a BBB Accredited business.

I also found out that I am able to file as an LLC online with irs.gov.

Knowing these two things has made me very angry.  If you do not file my form at the $89.00 you have charged me I will begin taking immediate action on your company with the BBB AND the Federal Trade Commission.  I will file a complaint showing that your company is doing fraudulent business and is guilty of identity theft (who knows what a fraudulent company like yours is doing with my information.  I have already found evidence that you sell this data to advertisement firms).  This will in effect bring a Federal investigation of your corporation which I believe is due.  Finally I will also join the folks on ripoffreport.com and warn the American public of your fraudulent nature.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/346/RipOff0346543.htm
http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/268/RipOff0268613.htm

Hermeris Inc has 48 hours to comply.

After sending this email I called the IRS and found that my LLC submission was in fact submitted.  This leaves me nothing to do attack the Scammers.  Please spread the word and help notify everyone that forming an LLC is free.  Also help by notifying Google.com that supporting Scammers through Ad Sense is not acceptable.  If Google.com wants to keep there name clean they need to support the consumers, not the Scammers.

Update:

Letter sent to Google Adwords Support

I recently used google to attempt to find information on filing an LLC.  Not only did Google not fwd me to irs.gov but Google promoted a scam artist using ad words to the front page.

I wrote a full review about what happened to me on my blog here :

http://supportreview.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/simplefilingscom-scam/

I will be submitting a complaint against google with the Better Business Bureau if I do not receive some notice from Google that indicates that they are working to remove simplefilings.com and other similar scam artists from Google AdWords.  If Google continues to Peddle these scam artists online I will make sure the Google brand reflects the dirt they push.

I also left a message with Google New York

http://search.newyork.bbb.org/reports.aspx?pid=44&page=1&id=95809

Name:
GOOGLE INC.
Address:
76 9th Avenue, 4th Floor
New York, NY 10011
View Location Map

Principal:
Eric Schmidt, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Phone Number:
(212) 565-0000
Additional Phone Numbers:
(650) 253-0000
(650) 253-0001

Fax Number:
(212) 565-0001
Website:
http://www.google.com
Type of Business:
Internet Services, Internet Marketing Services

Update:  I wrote this in 2008 and still get regular comments every day.  BEFORE YOU COMMENT HERE IF YOU HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY FILE A REPORT WITH THE BBB.  THIS COMPANY HAS AN “A” RATING!!!

http://www.bbb.org/kansas-city/business-reviews/business-services-general/hermeris-inc-in-kansas-city-mo-99136712/

Response received from SimpleFilings.com

Mr. Perry,

We want to reach out to you regarding the blog postings and reader comments about our company SimpleFilings.com, which are located at http://supportreview.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/simplefilingscom-scam/ and http://www.zaneperry.com/wp/google-adwords-promotes-scam-artists/.

We do our best every day to please our customers, to try to earn their repeat business, and to make whatever service they choose (LLC formation, DBA registration, EIN filing, tax extension, etc.) simply as easy and trouble-free as possible for them. We strive to differentiate ourselves from our larger competitors such as LegalZoom.com and MyCorporation.com by focusing on providing convenience, accuracy, speed, and support. By far the majority of our customers are pleased with our services. However sometimes customers are unhappy, which is true of course of any business. When that happens, we try to make it right.

Our concern is that many of the comments and postings on your blog regarding our website are untrue. For example, there are comments claiming that our website is not secure, that we sell data, or that in some way people need to be worried about identity theft. Those statements are now and always have been false. We take the privacy, integrity, and security of customer data very seriously. You can review some of our practices related to that here: http://www.simplefilings.com/security_practice.php.

Other comments left by multiple readers suggest that we are less than forthcoming about the nature of our services or our pricing. I would ask you to please return to our website to see for yourself: http://www.SimpleFilings.com. Pages dedicated to each service can be accessed from the green drop-menus at the top of the page. Read our company bio at http://www.simplefilings.com/aboutus.php. Search our FAQs at http://www.simplefilings.com/faq.php. See our Customer Help page at http://www.simplefilings.com/customerhelp.php. Even view our checkout page.

To summarize the information on our site, we have always been secure, and never take data over non-secured pages. Our code is scanned and intrusion tested daily by McAfee Secure. We never have, and never will sell or share customer data. We regularly purge much of the data from our databases that is not required by law to keep. We are an authorized IRS e-file Provider, which required us to pass fingerprinting and FBI background checks. Our business practices and contact information are entirely up front and transparent. We never take any steps to prevent anyone from learning about our company or contacting us. We want anyone who has a problem or complaint about our services to contact us, so that we can attempt to resolve their issue.

We are worried that some of the inaccurate comments on your blog could create unnecessary fear and anxiety among your readers. One reader mentioned fear of her identity being stolen, and that she is now paying fees to credit bureaus each month to create security alerts on her credit files. This is an unfortunate situation for a customer due to mis-information that is entirely avoidable.

We are reaching out to you in hopes of correcting this kind of reaction. Perhaps we can best serve your readers by working with you to post prominent links to our Customer Help page, http://www.simplefilings.com/customerhelp.php, and our phone number, 866-305-2702, at the top and bottom of your page. We respond to e-mails 7 days a week, and answer calls 5 days a week. Customers can request a refund or whatever else they need and receive real, direct support for their question or concern.

We hope you will consider this in order to prevent undue stress for anyone reading the postings.  To be clear, we are not asking or even hinting at any suppression of honest reviews or criticism.  We are not requesting any positive endorsement of us.  We are simply requesting a way for people who read the inaccurate postings to have a way to contact us to receive support, before they spend time and money worrying that their identity has been compromised, for example.  We take the trust of our users very seriously.

Best wishes, and thank you for your time and attention.

Sincerely,

The SimpleFilings Team

web: http://www.SimpleFilings.com

e-mail: support@SimpleFilings.com

phone: 866-305-2702

Charleston Water System Online Payment

I recently received a letter from Charleston Water System telling me that I had a Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Check of: $94.56.  After investigating I found that Charleston Water System has a completely defunct online Payment System.  The following letter I wrote to them explains everything.

To whom it may concern,

Last month I tried to use your online bill pay system to pay my bill (account xxxxxx-xx-x) using my checking account.  After submitting my checking information I received a payment confirmation screen.  Last Friday I received a letter “Re: Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Check of: $94.56”.  This confused me because I have never had under $94.56 in my bank account since I have been in my new residence.  After calling my bank I discovered that no request for payment was received by my bank.  Eventually after signing back online I was able to identify that the problem was a missing 3 in the account number.  I have fixed this issue and paid the $94.56 and the $35.00 penalty fee (I was directed by phone support to pay in full and place a request for refund in an email online).  During this payment I noticed your payment system is missing several standard online payment safeguards that would have avoided this issue in the first place and I request a refund of $35.00 because of your failure to have these in place.  In particular you guys could simply have  a dual entry field for both routing number and account number.  This is where the user has to enter in the same number twice and checks to make sure both numbers are correct.  This will catch 99.99% of all user entry errors.  A final solution would be for you to verify payments online before accepting payment from an incorrect account number.  Every other online merchant that I have ever used has this in place.

If you fail to refund my $35.00 I will immediately begin taking action against Charleston Water System by filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  Due to your “Unsatisfactory” rating with the Better Business Bureau I expect this threat doesn’t frighten you much.

http://columbia.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=48&bbb=0663&firm=34003431

Therefore if you continue to refuse to refund the $35.00 I have paid in penalty I will look into starting a class action lawsuit against Charleston Water System.  From the reaction I got from phone support the online payment issue seems to be an issue you guys are familiar with and it sounds like you are benefiting from your defunct payment system.  I highly recommend you refund my $35.00 and look to improve your online payment system.

I expect a response via email or phone from upper management to discuss this issue.

If anyone has been charged a penalty fee for this same issue please leave a comment and I will get back to you.

Update:

Charleston Water System I have been contacted and refunded the penalty charge.

Good Afternoon Zane,

We did have a seven day waiting period to verify account information but did away with it due to the abundance of customer complaints we received. I do want to apologize that your initial request to have the $35.00 fee waived wasn’t honored. I will be glad to remove this fee. Your next billing statement will reflect this adjustment.  Please feel free to contact me should you require additional assistance.

Thanks for writing and have a great evening.

Tamme’ Nathan
Contact Center Coordinator
Phone (843)727-6800  Fax (843)579-6688
nathanti@charlestoncpw.com

Clean Water For Life!

I responded with

Good deal,  thank you Tamme

If you would like assistance setting up the dual entry method I would be glad to help.  A simple javascript would do it.  There is no reason not to have this and it would most likely remove all such entry errors.  If you would like me to explain to whoever created your site I would be happy to do so.

The way it works is the user enters the routing number and account number twice

EG:

Routing Number: <user input field>
Please Re-Enter Routing Number: <user input field>

Account Number: <user input field>
Please Re-Enter Account Number: <user input field>

If the user enters two different values for either the script would say “Error, your entries do not match.  Please try again”.

This will catch all “Fat Finger” errors where the user either missed a number or mis-keyed the numbers on their keyboard.  I am very surprised to see your site does not have this as it is pretty much standard on all financial transactions where Routing Numbers & Account Numbers are requested since there are so many numbers which increases the chance for error.

Thank you for your support & refund.

Comcast Poor TV Signal Complaint

I thought it would be appropriate to post a good review of Comcast support.

Today I tried to watch my usual Tuesday “The Office” hour and found the HD so choppy that it was unwatchable.  Thankfully we use Netflix and were able to watch the episodes online.  After watching the show I decided to try to call Comcast.  After two attempts going straight to a message that they are unable to take my call (does Comcast even offer phone support anymore) I went online.  This experiance went well and was very timely.  I joined the chat room at #10 in the queue.

user Zane has entered room

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:13:14 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Many cable channels are fuzzy.  Many digital HD channels are extreamly choppy

analyst Kris has entered room

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:20:13 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Hello Zane, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Kris. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:20:14 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I will be happy to assist you with your questions today.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:20:19 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I apologize for the inconvenience, I can understand your frustration.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:20:20 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Please give me a minute while I pull up your account.
Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:21:51 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
ok

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:21:28 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
May I know your account number please?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:22:26 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:23:08 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Does Comcast know their telephone support is completely nonfunctional

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:22:59 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I will report that issue.
Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:23:01 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I apologize for the inconvenience, I can understand your frustration.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:23:09 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Can you please check to make sure that all of your cable connections are tight please? If you also have a splitter, please check it as well.

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:23:37 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
thank you

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:34 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Are you still looking up my account?

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:18 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I got it.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:21 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
v4.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:24 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
For identification, could you please verify the last 4 digits of the Social Security Number listed on the account?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:26:01 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
xxxx

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:41 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Thank you!

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:25:55 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Can you please take a moment and unplug the box from your power source for 30 seconds then plug it back in?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:26:54 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Sure.  My box is downstairs so you may want to tell me the next couple steps so I can do as many as possible before returning

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:27:09 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
brb

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:27:00 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
No problem.

I accidentally knock the internet offline while unplugging the cable box
analyst Kris has left room
user Zane has left room
analyst Kris has entered room
user Zane has entered room

I run upstairs to check to see if I have to start over again (Doh!).  OMG, I don’t !  Sweet!
Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:29:19 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Still the same issues?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:29:57 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Yes

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:29:39 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Please make sure that the box is turned on.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:29:43 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
send a hit signal.

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:30:11 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I knocked off the internet

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:30:19 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
ok, one sec

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:30:50 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I will now send a hit signal.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:32:12 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
I have sent a signal to your digital box. Can you please check to see if this has resolved your issue?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:34:37 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
That seemed to fix it

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:34:55 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Thank you for your support

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:34:37 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
You are welcome.

Kris(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:34:39 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
Is there anything else I could assist you with today?

Zane(Tue Jun 24 2008 23:35:16 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time))>
No.  Thank you.

Well Done Comcast!  This post is your reward for good support!  Keep it up!